Geographic Areas Covered in the Proposed Bangsamoro Entity and Its Population Figures

Photo courtesy of OPAPP

Based on the Annex to the Basic Law, referring to House Bill 4944 creating a Bangsamoro Autonomous Political Entity in Mindanao area, the proposed Bangsamoro includes eight (8) geographical areas: five provinces and three cities. These are the provinces of Maguindanao, Lanao del Sur, Sulu, Tawi-tawi, and Basilan and the cities of Marawi and Isabela.

Contrary to 'popular' beliefs, not all of Mindanao (such as General Santos City, Davao City, etc) will be part of the proposed Bangsamoro. The existing territories of Autonomous in Muslim Mindanao (ARMM) are still included in the proposed entity with the inclusion of Isabela City which is part of Region IX (Zamboanga Peninsula). Zamboanga del Norte, Zamboanga del Sur, Zamboanga Sibugay, and Zamboanga City will remain in Region IX, thus, these places will not be part of the Bangsamoro.

As of May 1, 2010, the population of these areas are:

Places Population as of May 2010
Province of Maguindanao
945, 820
City of Cotabato
271, 786
Province of Lanao del Sur
Province of Sulu
Province of Tawi-tawi
Province of Basilan
City of Marawi
City of Isabela
Total Population 2,552,152

The total population of the Philippines as of May 1, 2010 was 92,337,852. The proposed Bangsamoro entity accounts to 2.76% of the total Philippine population equivalent to 2,552,152 individuals.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...